WriteChatMessageAsync stalls forever

Hey,

I’m new to Nakama, using Unity and Nakama in combination.

I got everything working well, except when I try to send a chat message. The socket is connected, the chat is joined.

Here’s some extremely ugly test code:

await authTask;

var list = _client.ListGroupsAsync(_session, "Test Clan");
    await list;
    var r = list.Result;
    foreach (var g in r.Groups)
    {
        groupID = g.Id;
        break;
    }

await _client.JoinGroupAsync(_session, groupID);

Socket = _client.NewSocket();

Socket.Connected += () =>
    {
        Debug.Log("Socket connected.");
    };
    Socket.Closed += () =>
    {
        Debug.Log("Socket closed.");
    };

await Socket.ConnectAsync(_session, true);

var b =await Socket.JoinChatAsync(groupID, ChannelType.Group, true);
    Debug.Log(b.ToString());
    Debug.Log("Chat joined!");

var content = new Dictionary<string, string> {{"Message", "Hello!"}}.ToJson();
    await Socket.WriteChatMessageAsync(groupID, content);

Debug.Log("Please get to his point!");

So it never gets to the last debug statement. WriteChatMessageAsync stalls forever, no error is showing on the server log. And when I join the group, it works fine and it shows everyone online correctly.

Any clues what’s up?

Thanks!

@nixarn That’s strange :thinking: what version of the Unity client do you use? Also let me know what version of the game server you’ve set up.

Hey thanks for getting back to me!

The Unity client is 2.7.0 and Nakama is 2.12.0+650b506a. (copied from the log).

I started playing around with it yesterday, so maybe I’m missing something important? The authentication works, copied from your site and looking at the nakama admin it has created the users & the group correctly. It’s just the WriteChatMessageAsync that doesn’t work and stalls forever.

EDIT: I’m gonna try using the javascript client, and do the same thing and see what happens

@nixarn I’ll give your code a quick try as a test. :+1: