Unity Curl Error 60 with Authenticating Custom

Hey guys, I’m working on connecting our Unity game to the client’s server right now. The creation of the client seems to be successful but when upon doing a CustomAutentication using an existing account from their Nakama Console, I run into this:

Curl error 60: Cert verify failed: UNITYTLS_X509VERIFY_FLAG_USER_ERROR1

The game is on the WebGL platform and I’m very new to all of this. Results online indicate that this has to do with the SSL certificate which makes sense because the scheme I have set for the connection is “https”. Some guidance on how to fix this error would be much appreciated.

Hello @ProgramPlotam,

Assuming that you are running the client and server locally, you don’t need to use SSL since these processes are running on a trusted machine and communicating through a trusted one, which is yours.

The only situation where you do need it, is when you’re communicating with remote machines and you need a way of establishing a secure connection (making sure machines that relay messages aren’t looking at what you are sending/receiving). To accomplish this, systems rely certificates and certificate authorities that are worldwide trusted entities, so much that your local machine already includes base certificates emitted by them and which are used to cross validate with the certificate of the server you desire to communicate with without any extra work on your side.

You can learn more about all of this details here and its related pages: https://www.cloudflare.com/learning/ssl/what-is-ssl/

In summary, you don’t need it for local development and you should avoid it because to make it work you would need to do something like this:

• Emit a self-signed certificate since getting one from certificate authority would cost you money and require you to associate it to a domain owned by you which also costs money
  • Setup the server or a proxy in front, i.e NGINX, to use it