Connecting to nakama linux server with SSL from client Javascript (browser)

Hello

Sorry for my many questions, but I am very new to Nakama - just discovered it yesterday.

I am trying to run Nakama server on Google Compute Engine as described in the tutorial on your site.
I want to have the secure connection from Unity and client Javascript (browser) with self-signed certificates.

I was able to install an run the server, but unable to connect. I ma getting 503 error.

In the tutorial the author was setting the certificate fingerprint with SSLValidKeyFingerprints, but this was on .NET. I am unable to find how to set these fingerprints in Javascript client.

Also how to do this with REST client? Should I use a request header or query string parameter?

Or should I use some other approach? Do I need to use proper certificate? If so could you please advise which one you would suggest for development.

Thank you

Regards
Darius

Hi @dariuspranskus. Welcome!

I want to have the secure connection from Unity and client Javascript (browser) with self-signed certificates.

I don’t think it’s possible to successfully verify a self-signed certificate within a browser. A certificate requires a chain to a root authority that provides the assurance that the destination is legitimate. You might be able to add an exception to your browser to accept the certificate but this will not be accepted by players.

I am unable to find how to set these fingerprints in Javascript client.

It’s not possible in the JavaScript client because the DOM API does not expose an option to trust particular SSL fingerprints.

Do I need to use proper certificate? If so could you please advise which one you would suggest for development.

Yes you’ll need a proper certificate unless you want to just set an exception in your browser for your self-signed cert. I suggest you use LetsEncrypt which provides free SSL certificates. You will need to get a domain name in that case.