Running multiple instances of Nakama in the same server

Hi!

We are evaluating Nakama as our gaming server solution in the company I’m working.
One question that was raised during the discussion, is if we can run multiple Nakama instances on the same server.

To add some context, my company works with a lot of small and medium-sized games, and reducing costs is always a priority, that is the reason we want to put several games on the same machine.
If a game is very successful, we allocate more resources to that specific game.
We also have an IT team, so we were planning to deploy and balance the servers by ourselves.

I’m a developer, and I’m not an infrastructure expert, but I wanted to bring better information regarding this topic to our next meeting.

Thnk you in advance for your help.

1 Like

Hey Adrian!

It’ll be perfectly okay to run multiple instances of Nakama on the same server. A good approach would be to run one docker container per Nakama instance and then map a different host port to the container port for Nakama (say, 8080 to 7351). This way, you can have different games listening on different ports. Thereafter, you can use a reverse proxy like Nginx to distribute traffic based on the domain name to appropriate port.

Thx a lot for your quick and detailed response @thealphadollar.

I suppose there is a performance hit using docker containers rather than running Nakama natively, right?
If that is the case, then I suppose we need a machine per instance.

For most practical purposes, the performance of docker containers is close to native performance. So, I think it should be fine running multiple docker containers than running multiple Nakama instances separately on the same server (which is doable, just that the Nakama ports should be changed as one port can be used by only one application).

Ref: linux - What is the runtime performance cost of a Docker container? - Stack Overflow

Hi Adrian,