"Intercepted a disabled resource" when attempting before hook

I’m just getting started on adding some server logic. I’m hoping to execute a function when the client tries to write to storage. I have a Lua module as follows:

local nk = require("nakama")

local function my_test_function()
  nk.logger_info("Executing my_test_function")
end

nk.register_req_before(my_test_function, "WriteStorageObjects")

However when I perform a storage operation from the client, it produces an error. This is in the server log:

{"level":"warn","ts":"2019-08-28T20:42:58.974Z","msg":"Intercepted a disabled resource.","resource":"/nakama.api.Nakama/WriteStorageObjects","uid":"ENaIUqvmaD"}

Apologies in advance if I have overlooked something silly - new to all of this!

I’m running Nakama using Docker on Windows 10.

OK, I got it to work - I changed it as follows:

local nk = require("nakama")

local function my_test_function(context, payload)
  nk.logger_info("Executing my_test_function")
  return payload -- important!
end

nk.register_req_before(my_test_function, "WriteStorageObjects")

Going to leave that “–important!” comment in there, to help me remember where I went wrong.

So my guess is the “register_req_before” function requires a function with the “context” and “payload” arguments?

If there is a resource that could help me understand this better I’d greatly appreciate it. I know I need to learn more about Lua and should learn to read the Nakama source code - I could probably figure out how this works there.

Hi @petergordon87. I can explain what happens.

You can think of the before and after hooks in the game server as lifecycle events on requests sent to the server.